Heart Bleeds

 

We drove down form Seattle the night before and I think we checked into the hotel at about 4 AM.  We had to check out around noon and the rest of the crew went to tour the NIke facilities, so we ended up a little sleep deprived on the unusually warm streets of Portland for most of the day.  I had a hard time finishing the song that I planned to do and after several takes I realized that I was losing my voice.  This was frustrating because we had a show that night and I wanted to do my best for the people of the great city.  I was in a downward spiral and I lost my confidence.  Colt and I ended up sitting on the curb eating lays potato chips and finally decided to hail a cab to the venue.  We got there a little early and so i decided to do some vocal warm ups.  Colt started filming and we did a couple different shots just for fun.  I was sure they wouldn’t work as my voice was hurting but later I watched the play back and was pleasantly surprised.  I guess it goes to show that things are not always as they seem.

This is called “heart bleeds” and the people of Portland were phenomenal that night.

2 comments
  1. dave said:

    So you can play the guitar and sing. But can you make a good cup of coffee?

Leave a Reply

